Alexandria, La., April 29, 2014 – Due to the recent passage of the 2014 Farm Bill, Louisiana has proposed that the communities of Sulphur, New Iberia, Houma, and Slidell will be eligible to receive Rural Development housing assistance effective December 1, 2014.

Areas already included – St. Bernard, Plaquemines, St. Tammany, St. Rose, Tangipahoa, St. Charles, etc.  (Orleans parish is not included, and most of Jefferson Parish; however, westbank Jefferson is included)

Preliminary property eligibility determinations can be made from the USDA Rural Development Property and Income Eligibility Website: